‚ÄčAFL Marymount College.JPG

There has been heightened support for AFL at Marymount in 2019.  Our successes in the AFLQ Schools Cup has shown that with good preparation and our strong depth in talent, MMC teams achieve at the highest level. Committed participation at Wednesday morning training has led to impressive results this year.

The Junior Girls AGCC teams finished 2nd and 3rd and show great promise for the future with an emerging group of talented Year 7s.  Coached by Ms Berryman, they were unlucky to be knocked out in the Regional Qualifying Finals of the Schools Cup. Next year we are hoping to field both a strong Junior and Senior female team. The most outstanding Junior girls were Lexi Samuels and Milla Ferguson from Year 9, and Kiara Wright and Chanel Davies in Year 7.

Our Senior Boys team, coached by Mr Carroll and Mr Francis, progressed to the State Qualifying Finals of the Schools Cup, defeating Varsity College and Lindisfarne, but they eventually ran out of steam against St Thomas Moore College. Co-captains Liam Howe and Bryn Larkin have managed to lead this team through to the Qualifying Finals for the first time in this competition. Congratulations to team members Cooper Parkes, Year 10, Nick Tyson, Year 11, and Sam Pinch, Year 12, who polled 'Best and Fairest' in each year level.

 Assistant Coach, Seth Walker (Year 7), helped to mastermind a game plan that saw the Junior Boys team make it all the way through to the State Semi Finals of the AFLQ Schools Cup, ranking them in the top 10 teams in Queensland for their division. Seth's rousing half time speeches fostered an inspired on-field commitment from the team. Led by Year 9's Taine Dawson and Lachy Edgar, the Junior Boys Team showed good control, moving the ball by hand and by foot. Stand-out players were Max Hudson, Year 7, Cooper Wilkinson, Year 8, and Taz Kerr, Year 9, who also polled 'Best and Fairest' in their respective year levels.

Congratulations to our State Representatives Max Hudson, Year 7, and Connor Vincent, Year 11.  What a marvellous achievement! Many thanks to the staff who committed to morning training including Ms Richardson, Ms Berryman, Mr Carroll and Mr Francis.

Go, Marymount!

Bomber Larkin